State of the Data
Every rate, fee, credit, and assumption that feeds the calculator — with the source, the date it was pulled, and how confident we are in it.
Last reviewed: September 23, 2026. Rates and programs change; refresh quarterly or when major legislation passes.
AI-assisted data — please double-check
This data is aggregated with the help of AI tools that search and cross-check manufacturer specs, EPA ratings, utility tariffs, and published reviews. That makes a site like this possible for one person to maintain, but it can get things wrong — a misread spec sheet, an outdated figure, a trim mix-up. The confidence tags below say how well each number is backed up. Confirm anything you’re relying on with the manufacturer, your utility, or a dealer.
How to read this page
- Verified — pulled from an official or authoritative source on the retrieval date.
- Approximate — our best estimate; authoritative source exists but was not directly retrieved, or values vary across the population we’re summarizing.
- Pending — we’ve flagged this for verification and it should be double-checked before relying on it.
Federal tax credits
IRS clean vehicle and refueling property credits under the 2022 IRA as modified by the 2025 OBBB.
Federal tax credits
IRS clean vehicle and refueling property credits under the 2022 IRA as modified by the 2025 OBBB.
West Virginia state fees
Registration base fee plus EV/PHEV surcharges under WV Code §17A-10-3c.
West Virginia state fees
Registration base fee plus EV/PHEV surcharges under WV Code §17A-10-3c.
How the WV registration fees stack up
Every passenger vehicle in WV pays the $51.50 Class A base registration. EVs and PHEVs pay an additional surcharge on top of that.
- Gasoline car: $51.50 total
- Plug-in hybrid: $51.50 + $100 = $151.50 total
- Battery-electric: $51.50 + $200 = $251.50 total
The $250-ish figure that shows up in casual sources is the total annual registration for a BEV; the $200 in the statute is the EV-specific surcharge on top of the base fee. Our calculator adds $200 (not $250) to EV annual cost because the gasoline-vehicle comparison already excludes the $51.50 base — we’re comparing the incremental cost of going electric, not the total DMV bill.
Appalachian Power (AEP) — residential rates
Southern and central West Virginia. Rates for bills rendered on or after September 1, 2026.
Appalachian Power (AEP) — residential rates
Southern and central West Virginia. Rates for bills rendered on or after September 1, 2026.
Mon Power & Potomac Edison (FirstEnergy) — residential rates
Northern WV (Mon Power) and the Eastern Panhandle / Potomac Highlands (Potomac Edison). Identical rates effective August 1, 2026.
Mon Power & Potomac Edison (FirstEnergy) — residential rates
Northern WV (Mon Power) and the Eastern Panhandle / Potomac Highlands (Potomac Edison). Identical rates effective August 1, 2026.
Wheeling Power — residential rates
AEP subsidiary serving the northern panhandle. Same tariff and rates as Appalachian Power.
Wheeling Power — residential rates
AEP subsidiary serving the northern panhandle. Same tariff and rates as Appalachian Power.
Co-ops and small local utilities
Rural electric co-ops, Black Diamond Power, and municipal utilities. Rates not verified.
Co-ops and small local utilities
Rural electric co-ops, Black Diamond Power, and municipal utilities. Rates not verified.
Utility rebates and EV programs
What's currently available for WV EV owners through their utility.
Utility rebates and EV programs
What's currently available for WV EV owners through their utility.
Gas price baseline
Used to compare EV charging costs against what a gasoline vehicle would pay.
Gas price baseline
Used to compare EV charging costs against what a gasoline vehicle would pay.
Insurance and maintenance assumptions
Used only when you pick your current vehicle, so both sides of the comparison include them.
Insurance and maintenance assumptions
Used only when you pick your current vehicle, so both sides of the comparison include them.
DC fast charging (DCFC) assumptions
Rate and time math used for long-trip public fast-charging stops.
DC fast charging (DCFC) assumptions
Rate and time math used for long-trip public fast-charging stops.
Why DCFC deserves its own line
Public fast charging typically costs ~3× more per kWh than charging at home. For a driver who takes 10+ road trips a year, quietly pricing every kWh at the home utility rate overstates EV savings by hundreds of dollars. The calculator now splits BEV energy into home-rate kWh (commute + long-trip “first tank” before departure) and DCFC-rate kWh (mid-route charging stops).
Calculation assumptions
Physics and fleet-behavior constants used in the TCO math.
Calculation assumptions
Physics and fleet-behavior constants used in the TCO math.
Public charger data (/chargers map)
How the WV charger map gets its data and how fresh it is.
Public charger data (/chargers map)
How the WV charger map gets its data and how fresh it is.
Household planner: purchase price and resale
WV sales tax, how much new vehicles keep of their value, and what your current vehicles and a used one you'd buy lose — used by the /plan household planner.
Household planner: purchase price and resale
WV sales tax, how much new vehicles keep of their value, and what your current vehicles and a used one you'd buy lose — used by the /plan household planner.
Household budget and the $10,000 car
What transportation costs a household, West Virginia's median income, the cheapest EV in the world, and why it isn't sold here — used by /learn/ten-thousand-dollar-car and the Why EVs Matter essay.
Household budget and the $10,000 car
What transportation costs a household, West Virginia's median income, the cheapest EV in the world, and why it isn't sold here — used by /learn/ten-thousand-dollar-car and the Why EVs Matter essay.
Seats, cargo, and towing
Luggage space (including front trunks and under-floor storage) and tow ratings for every vehicle, used on the EV pages and the household planner.
Seats, cargo, and towing
Luggage space (including front trunks and under-floor storage) and tow ratings for every vehicle, used on the EV pages and the household planner.
Gathered in September 2026 by AI research agents working from manufacturer spec pages, owner’s manuals, towing guides, and reviews, then range-checked. Each vehicle carries its own source link and a confidence level. EVs and plug-ins: 21 verified, 50 approximate. Gas vehicles: 52 verified, 67 approximate. “Approximate” usually means the manufacturer’s page blocked automated reading and the figure came from a review or dealer listing.
How we count luggage space: rear cargo behind the 2nd row with the seats up, plus any under-floor sub-trunk the manufacturer doesn’t already include in that figure, plus the front trunk. When we can’t tell whether a quoted figure includes the under-floor well, we assume it does rather than risk counting it twice. Most automakers don’t publish sub-trunk sizes, so some vehicles have a little more room than shown. Tow ratings are for the listed trim; many require an optional tow package.
Known soft spots: cargo figures differ between US (SAE) and European measurement standards, and a few manufacturers’ US figures look inconsistent with their own European numbers (Mercedes EQE is under review). Pickup trucks are described by bed length, not cubic feet.
Per-vehicle sources (EVs and plug-ins)
| Vehicle | Seats · luggage | Towing | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tesla Model Y Premium AWDOwner's manual figures for Premium 5-seat (Tesla's headline 76 cu ft is the total incl. frunk and sub-trunk). Towing requires tow package. Manual read via search excerpt (page blocks direct fetch). Sub-trunk: deep lower well under the cargo floor; Tesla gives no separate figure. The manual's 75.5 cu ft total = 71.4 rear + 4.1 frunk, so the rear figures already include the well. Accessory-vendor measurements put the well at about 2.1-2.9 cu ft (not official). | 5 · 33.1 cu ft incl. sub-trunk + frunk | 3,500 lb | verified |
| Tesla Model 3 Premium RWDTrunk figure includes the deep under-floor well; Tesla's 24 cu ft headline adds the 3.1 cu ft frunk. No official seats-folded figure. Not rated for towing in the US. Sub-trunk: included in the 21.0 cu ft (594 L) trunk figure. No separate official volume (aftermarket measurements give only dimensions). | 5 · 24.1 cu ft incl. sub-trunk + frunk | Not rated | approximate |
| Chevrolet Equinox EV 1LT FWDNo frunk. 1,500 lb tow rating when equipped with trailering provisions. Sub-trunk: reviews (Edmunds cargo test, dealer guides, via search excerpts) describe an under-floor bin sized for the charge-cord case and small items. Chevrolet publishes no separate volume, and it is unclear whether 26.4 cu ft includes it. | 5 · 26.4 cu ft | 1,500 lb | approximate |
| Ford F-150 Lightning XLT Standard Range5.5-ft bed (67.1 in at floor). 7,700 lb needs Max Trailer Tow Pkg (5,000 without). Payload is the XLT figure from dealer sources; Ford sheet lists 2,329 lb max for standard range (Pro). Pickup: sub-trunk set to 0. No under-bed or gear-tunnel storage; the 14.1 cu ft lockable frunk is the hidden storage (bed volume about 52.8 cu ft per review excerpt). | 5 · 5.6 ft bed | 7,700 lb | verified |
| Ford F-150 Lightning XLT Extended Range10,000 lb with Max Trailer Tow Pkg per dealer sources (7,700 without). Ford's 2025 spec sheet lists the extended-range battery only on Flash/Lariat/Platinum, so XLT ER may be a 2024 carry-over config. Pickup: sub-trunk set to 0. No under-bed or gear-tunnel storage; the 14.1 cu ft frunk is the hidden storage. | 5 · 5.6 ft bed | 10,000 lb | approximate |
| Chevrolet Silverado EV LT Extended Range5 ft 11 in bed (nominal; extends with Multi-Flex Midgate). eTrunk 10.7 cu ft. Figures for LT Extended Range; payload varies by configuration. Pickup: sub-trunk set to 0. No under-bed storage found (bed about 57.7 cu ft per dealer comparison); only small in-cab bins behind the rear seat backs. | 5 · 5.9 ft bed | 12,500 lb | approximate |
| Rivian R1T PremiumAssumes Standard battery pack. Plus 11.7 cu ft gear tunnel. Payload per Rivian support; 7,700 lb Standard-pack tow rating not re-confirmed for MY2027. Weight-distributing hitch needed above 5,000 lb. Pickup: sub-trunk set to 0. Besides the 11.7 cu ft gear tunnel there is a sealed under-bed compartment (spare-tire well with drain plug), reported as 11.5-14.3 cu ft by review sources (search excerpts). | 5 · 4.5 ft bed | 7,700 lb | approximate |
| Rivian R1T Premium Long RangeLarge pack. Plus 11.7 cu ft gear tunnel. 11,000 lb needs weight-distributing hitch (5,000 without). MY2026 figures. Pickup: sub-trunk set to 0. Besides the 11.7 cu ft gear tunnel there is a sealed under-bed compartment (spare-tire well), reported as 11.5-14.3 cu ft by review sources. | 5 · 4.5 ft bed | 11,000 lb | approximate |
| Ford Mustang Mach-E Select RWDFrunk is a paid option (not standard) on 2026 per Ford order guide. Not rated for towing in the US per review sources (no tow package in 2026 order guide). CORRECTION: frunk changed from 4.7 to 2.6 cu ft. 4.7 was the pre-2025 frunk; the 2025 heat pump shrank it to 2.6 cu ft (Ford Authority, Electrek). Sub-trunk: small hidden under-floor bin for cables and valuables; reviews say it does not add meaningful luggage space. No published volume. | 5 · 32.3 cu ft incl. frunk | Not rated | approximate |
| Ford Mustang Mach-E Premium RWD Extended RangeFrunk is optional on 2026. Not rated for towing in the US per review sources. CORRECTION: frunk changed from 4.7 to 2.6 cu ft (2025+ heat-pump frunk, per Ford Authority/Electrek). Sub-trunk: small under-floor bin, no published volume. | 5 · 32.3 cu ft incl. frunk | Not rated | approximate |
| Hyundai Ioniq 5 SE RWD Standard RangeSources conflict: 26.3/58.5 (2025+ refresh) vs older 27.2/59.3. Frunk 0.85 cu ft. Hyundai lists 2,700 lb towing only for XRT; rating for SE not confirmed. Sub-trunk: reviews mention only small under-floor/side pockets; no published volume. Unclear whether Hyundai's figure includes them. | 5 · 27.2 cu ft incl. frunk | — | approximate |
| Hyundai Ioniq 5 SE RWD Long Range (84 kWh)Sources conflict: 26.3/58.5 vs 27.2/59.3. Frunk 0.85 cu ft. Towing rating for SE RWD not confirmed (XRT: 2,700 lb). Sub-trunk: only small under-floor pockets per reviews; no published volume. | 5 · 27.2 cu ft incl. frunk | — | approximate |
| Kia EV6 Light RWDKia lists towing only for Long Range trims (2,700 lb); Light (standard range) has none. Frunk 1.8 cu ft (52 L, RWD) is from a non-US spec. Sub-trunk: multi-level under-floor storage (lift-up flap plus space under the floor, per What Car/Autoblog via search excerpts). No published volume; unclear whether 24.4 cu ft includes it. | 5 · 26.2 cu ft incl. frunk | Not rated | verified |
| Kia EV6 Wind RWD (84 kWh)2,700 lb with trailer brakes. Frunk 1.8 cu ft (52 L, RWD) is from a non-US spec. Sub-trunk: under-floor storage present per reviews; no published volume. | 5 · 26.2 cu ft incl. frunk | 2,700 lb | verified |
| Nissan Leaf S+20 cu ft seats-up from Nissan; 55.5 folded from review sources. No frunk. No US tow rating found (1,300 lb figures appear to be non-US). Sub-trunk: no information found on an under-floor bin in the new-generation Leaf; left null (unknown). | 5 · 20 cu ft | — | approximate |
| Chevrolet Blazer EV LT FWDNo frunk. 1,500 lb with trailering provisions (FWD LT); some AWD/RWD trims rate higher. Sub-trunk: no Blazer-specific figure found. The Ultium-platform sibling Honda Prologue has a 0.8 cu ft under-floor bin, but the Blazer's was not confirmed. | 5 · 25.5 cu ft | 1,500 lb | approximate |
| Volkswagen ID.4 Pro RWDNo frunk. RWD 2,200 lb braked with VW hitch (AWD 2,700); some sources say RWD is not rated. Sub-trunk: two-level load floor with a small under-floor area (charge cord) below; the floor drops a level for more space. No published volume, and it is unclear which floor position the 30.3 cu ft figure uses. | 5 · 30.3 cu ft | 2,200 lb | approximate |
| Volkswagen ID.4 Pro S RWDNo frunk. RWD 2,200 lb braked with VW hitch; some sources say RWD is not rated. Sub-trunk: two-level floor with a small under-floor area; no published volume, and it is unclear whether 30.3 includes it. | 5 · 30.3 cu ft | 2,200 lb | approximate |
| Honda Prologue EX FWDNo frunk. 1,500 lb max towing. Honda spec page blocked direct fetch; figures from search excerpts. Sub-trunk: 0.8 cu ft bin under the trunk floor, described as 'separate' storage (Edmunds review via search excerpt), so treated as not included in 25.2 (inference). | 5 · 26 cu ft incl. sub-trunk | 1,500 lb | approximate |
| Toyota bZ XLE FWD PlusMY2026 figures. No frunk. XLE FWD Plus listed without a tow rating (3,500 lb is on Woodland/AWD grades). Sub-trunk: reviews (Capital One Auto Navigator, dealer, via search excerpts) describe a large under-floor bin used for the charge cord. No published volume; unclear whether 27.7 includes it. | 5 · 27.7 cu ft | — | approximate |
| Toyota RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid SE AWDNew-generation 2026 model; seats-folded figure not found. 3,500 lb tow rating. Sub-trunk: 2026 RAV4 has a height-adjustable deck board (about 2 in lower position) with storage beneath; no published volume for the plug-in, and unclear which position the 33.5 figure uses. | 5 · 33.5 cu ft | 3,500 lb | approximate |
| Ford Escape Plug-in Hybrid Plug-in HybridEscape is being discontinued; figures match 2025. Rear seat slides, so behind-row-2 space varies. Sub-trunk: no information found on an under-floor bin for the PHEV; left null (unknown). | 5 · 34.4 cu ft | 1,500 lb | approximate |
| Jeep Wrangler 4xe Sport SStellantis 2025 spec sheet, 4-door Sport S 4xe. Sub-trunk: owner forums describe a factory under-floor bin in the rear cargo area (4xe keeps it, with a raised floor over the battery). No published volume; unclear whether 27.7 includes it. | 5 · 27.7 cu ft | 3,500 lb | verified |
| Hyundai Ioniq 6 SE Long Range RWDSedan trunk. No US tow rating found. Frunk re-tried: all North American 2023-2025 Ioniq 6 (RWD and AWD) get the shallow 15 L (0.5 cu ft) frunk tray; the 45 L deep tub is non-US RWD only (Go-Parts, The Autopian, via search excerpts). Sub-trunk: no information found on an under-floor bin; left null (unknown). | 5 · 11.7 cu ft incl. frunk | — | approximate |
| Volvo EX30 Single Motor Extended Range PlusVolvo says the folded figure includes a 2.2 cu ft under-floor compartment. Tiny 0.2 cu ft frunk. 2,000 lb towing from review sources. Sub-trunk: 2.2 cu ft under-floor compartment. Sources say the 27.8 folded figure includes it but do not say so for the 12.4 seats-up figure, so treated as excluded (inference). | 5 · 14.8 cu ft incl. sub-trunk + frunk | 2,000 lb | approximate |
| Kia Niro EV WindCargo verified on Kia media spec page; frunk 0.7 cu ft is from non-official sources. Kia lists no towing rating. Sub-trunk: dual-level cargo floor with an under-floor compartment (charge cable, tools) per reviews. No published volume; unclear whether 22.8 is measured with the floor lowered. | 5 · 23.5 cu ft incl. frunk | — | verified |
| Kia EV9 Light Long Range RWD7-seat. Behind-row-2 figure is with 3rd row folded. Frunk 3.2 cu ft (RWD). 2,000 lb braked towing for Light Long Range RWD. Sub-trunk: 0. Reviews (Autoblog luggage test, via search excerpt) say the under-floor space only holds the cargo cover and tire-repair kit, with no useful luggage bin. | 7 · 46.7 cu ft incl. frunk | 2,000 lb | verified |
| Cadillac Lyriq Luxury RWDNo frunk. Max cargo reported as about 60 cu ft (exact Cadillac figure not confirmed). 3,500 lb with trailering package. Sub-trunk: reviews describe a deep under-floor storage area, larger than in rivals, plus a slot for the charge-cord case. No published volume; unclear whether 28.0 includes it. | 5 · 28 cu ft | 3,500 lb | approximate |
| Toyota Prius Plug-in Hybrid SEMY2026 figures (same generation). Hatchback. No tow rating listed. Sub-trunk: not researched in depth; no information found. Left null (unknown). | 5 · 20.3 cu ft | — | approximate |
| Subaru Solterra Premium AWDMY2026 figures from Subaru's trim-comparison PDF. No frunk. Tow rating is not in Subaru's spec sheet (one source claims 3,500 lb, unconfirmed). Sub-trunk: modest cargo-area under-floor storage tray (dealer/review excerpts). No published volume; unclear whether 23.8 includes it. | 5 · 23.8 cu ft | — | approximate |
| BMW i4 eDrive40 RWDLiftback trunk; seats-folded figure not found. No frunk. US tow rating not found. Sub-trunk: small under-floor compartments (cables). i4 owner forum/review excerpts say the 470 L (16.6 cu ft) figure excludes under-floor storage. No volume published. | 5 · 16.6 cu ft | — | approximate |
| Polestar 2 Long Range Single MotorLiftback. Frunk 1.2 cu ft. 2,000 lb towing. Sub-trunk: about 41 L (1.4 cu ft) under the double load floor (Motor1/DrivingElectric via search excerpts; frunk is separately about 35 L). Sources don't make clear whether the 405 L (14.3-14.4 cu ft) trunk figure includes the under-floor 41 L. | 5 · 15.6 cu ft incl. frunk | 2,000 lb | approximate |
| Tesla Cybertruck Premium AWD6 ft x 4 ft bed (72 in nominal). 11,000 lb towing and 2,500 lb payload for AWD. Frunk re-tried: 7.1 cu ft (about 200 L), 420 lb load limit, per Not a Tesla App / Tesloid (search excerpts). Pickup: sub-trunk set to 0. There is a 3.4 cu ft (97 L) under-bed compartment with drain plug (owner's manual via search excerpt); bed ('vault') is about 67 cu ft. | 5 · 6 ft bed | 11,000 lb | approximate |
| BMW X5 xDrive50e PHEVNo frunk. 7,200 lb with factory trailer hitch. Sub-trunk: no information found on under-floor storage in the PHEV (battery raises the floor vs the gas X5). Left null (unknown). | 5 · 33 cu ft | 7,200 lb | approximate |
| Rivian R1S PremiumRivian spec: 17.6 cu ft all seats up, 48.6 third row folded, 90.7 second+third folded; frunk 9.9 cu ft (Rivian page; older sources say 11.1). 7,700 lb requires weight-distributing hitch (5,000 lb without). Page is current Gen 2 R1S, not explicitly MY2027. Sub-trunk: R1S has an under-floor bin behind the 3rd row but Rivian gives no separate volume (its 105.8 cu ft 'total storage' implies ~5 cu ft of under-floor + cubby space beyond frunk + 90.7). Unknown whether 48.6 includes it. | 7 · 58.5 cu ft incl. frunk | 7,700 lb | approximate |
| Rivian R1S Premium Long RangeRivian spec: 17.6 cu ft all seats up, 48.6 third row folded, 90.7 second+third folded; frunk 9.9 cu ft (Rivian page; older sources say 11.1). 7,700 lb requires weight-distributing hitch (5,000 lb without). Page is current Gen 2 R1S, not explicitly MY2027. All Gen 2 R1S battery/motor combos rated 7,700 lb. Sub-trunk: R1S has an under-floor bin behind the 3rd row but Rivian gives no separate volume (its 105.8 cu ft 'total storage' implies ~5 cu ft of under-floor + cubby space beyond frunk + 90.7). Unknown whether 48.6 includes it. | 7 · 58.5 cu ft incl. frunk | 7,700 lb | approximate |
| Mercedes-Benz EQB 250+ FWDMBUSA 2025 EQB 250+: 25.9-61.8 cu ft; 5 seats std, 3rd row optional. EQB 250+ is FWD (batch trim says 4MATIC). MBUSA lists no US towing capacity (European rating ~3,100 lb braked); left null. Sub-trunk: no data; unknown. | 5 · 25.9 cu ft | — | verified |
| Mercedes-Benz EQE 320 Sedan 4MATICMBUSA MY2026 EQE 320 4MATIC Sedan lists 10.9 cu ft trunk (older reviews quote ~15 cu ft for earlier EQE 350). No frunk. MBUSA lists no towing capacity for the sedan. Sub-trunk: no data. Mercedes-Benz USA quotes 10.9 cu ft (measured to seatback height); Autoblog's luggage test and the European 430 L figure both put the trunk at ~15 cu ft. Using 15.2 cu ft so it compares fairly. | 5 · 15.2 cu ft | — | approximate |
| Mercedes-Benz EQE 320 SUV 4MATICMBUSA MY2027 EQE 320 4MATIC SUV: 14-55 cu ft (Mercedes' conservative measure; European VDA figures are 520/1,675 L = 18.4/59.2 cu ft). 3,500 lb with optional trailer hitch. No frunk. Sub-trunk: EQE SUV has an under-floor compartment for cables/first-aid kit; size not published. Mercedes-Benz USA quotes 14 / 55 cu ft, but measures only to seatback height (Autoblog luggage test) while most SUV makers measure floor to roof. Using the European 520 L / 1,675 L figures converted (18.4 / 59.2 cu ft) so it compares fairly; still conservative. | 5 · 18.4 cu ft | 3,500 lb | approximate |
| Lucid Air Grand TouringLucid tech specs (MY2024/2025): trunk 22.1 cu ft, frunk 10.0 cu ft; towing listed as not available. No official seats-folded figure. MY2027 same generation. Sub-trunk: 22.1 cu ft trunk figure includes the deep under-floor well (size not given separately). | 5 · 32.1 cu ft incl. sub-trunk + frunk | Not rated | approximate |
| Lucid Gravity Grand TouringMY2027 Grand Touring seats 5 standard; 7-seat 3rd row is a $2,900 option (then 21.3 cu ft behind 3rd row, 106.2 max). Cargo figures from review summaries (56.2 behind 2nd, 111.9 max in 2-row config); Lucid quotes 'up to 120 cu ft' incl. frunk. 6,000 lb requires optional $950 Towing Package. Sub-trunk: size not found. | 5 · 64.3 cu ft incl. frunk | 6,000 lb | approximate |
| Mercedes-Benz EQS 450+ SedanMBUSA MY2027 EQS 450+ Sedan: 22-63 cu ft (liftback, so a seats-folded figure exists). No frunk. MBUSA lists no towing capacity. Sub-trunk: no data. | 5 · 22 cu ft | — | verified |
| Tesla Model S Long RangeTesla quotes 28 cu ft total incl. frunk; split per Tesla EU data: rear 709 L (25.0 cu ft, includes sub-trunk) + frunk 89 L (3.1). Seats-folded 64.6 cu ft is an EU litre conversion. Tesla offers no tow hitch for Model S in North America (towing not supported). Sub-trunk: Model S has a deep rear sub-trunk; not published separately but included in the 25.0. | 5 · 28.1 cu ft incl. sub-trunk + frunk | Not rated | approximate |
| Tesla Model Y Performance AWD30.2 behind 2nd row (measured with floor panel removed, i.e. includes sub-trunk; China MIIT 854 L), 72.1 max, 4.1 frunk: pre-refresh figures; Tesla quotes 76 cu ft total for current Model Y. 3,500 lb requires Tesla tow hitch option. Sub-trunk: large rear under-floor well included in 30.2; separate volume not published. | 5 · 34.3 cu ft incl. sub-trunk + frunk | 3,500 lb | approximate |
| Tesla Model 3 Performance AWDTesla quotes 24 cu ft total incl. frunk; EU data: rear ~594 L (21 cu ft, includes sub-trunk) + frunk 88 L (3.1). Seats-folded ~43.6 cu ft (EU litre conversion) not officially quoted in US. Tesla owner's manual: Model 3 not approved for towing in North America. Sub-trunk: rear under-floor well included in trunk figure; separate volume not published. | 5 · 24.1 cu ft incl. sub-trunk + frunk | Not rated | approximate |
| Rivian R1T Premium with Performance upgradeRivian: bed 54.1 in (tailgate up), payload 1,764 lb and towing 11,000 lb for R1T Dual (Max pack); Gen 2 Dual Standard/Large pack rated 7,700 lb. Weight-distributing hitch required for max. Frunk 9.9 cu ft per Rivian page. Sub-trunk 0: pickup - the 11.7 cu ft gear tunnel and under-bed storage are not a sub-trunk. | 5 · 4.5 ft bed | 11,000 lb | approximate |
| Rivian R1S Premium with Performance upgradeRivian spec: 17.6 cu ft all seats up, 48.6 third row folded, 90.7 second+third folded; frunk 9.9 cu ft (Rivian page; older sources say 11.1). 7,700 lb requires weight-distributing hitch (5,000 lb without). Page is current Gen 2 R1S, not explicitly MY2027. Sub-trunk: R1S has an under-floor bin behind the 3rd row but Rivian gives no separate volume (its 105.8 cu ft 'total storage' implies ~5 cu ft of under-floor + cubby space beyond frunk + 90.7). Unknown whether 48.6 includes it. | 7 · 58.5 cu ft incl. frunk | 7,700 lb | approximate |
| Cadillac Escalade IQ Luxury AWDDealer research page (Cadillac figures): 23.6 behind 3rd, 69.1 behind 2nd, 119.1 behind 1st row. eTrunk 12.2 cu ft. Max trailering 8,000 lb (IQ; IQL is 7,500) per review/dealer sources. Sub-trunk: no data. | 7 · 81.3 cu ft incl. frunk | 8,000 lb | approximate |
| Nissan Ariya Evolve+ FWDNissan USA: up to 59.7 cu ft max; 22.8 behind rear seats per review/dealer sources. No frunk. Nissan lists towing (1,500 lb) only for e-4ORCE AWD; FWD Evolve+ has no published rating - null. Sub-trunk: no data. | 5 · 22.8 cu ft | — | approximate |
| GMC Sierra EV Denali Extended RangeBed 70.6 in (10 ft 10 in with MultiPro Midgate down). 12,500 lb max trailering. Payload conflicts: 1,950 lb (review summary for Denali Extended Range) vs 2,250 lb (dealer page, Denali 4WD). eTrunk 11.0 cu ft per dealer (another source said 15; Silverado EV's is 10.7). Sub-trunk 0 (pickup). | 5 · 5.9 ft bed | 12,500 lb | approximate |
| Acura ZDX A-Spec AWDAcura MY2024 spec release (read via search excerpt): 29.7 / 63.0 cu ft. 3,500 lb requires Acura accessory trailer hitch. No frunk. Sub-trunk: no data. | 5 · 29.7 cu ft | 3,500 lb | verified |
| Dodge Charger Daytona R/T CoupeLiftback coupe: 22.8 cu ft behind rear seat, 37.4 folded (dealer/review figures quoting Dodge spec sheet; Edmunds cites 22.7). Frunk 1.5 cu ft only with optional Plus Group - 0 as standard. Towing not found. Sub-trunk: no data. | 5 · 22.8 cu ft | — | approximate |
| Chevrolet Bolt LT16.2 behind 2nd row, 56.3 folded (dealer/review summaries of GM figures). Frunk not confirmed either way (re-tried). No published tow rating found. Sub-trunk: no data. | 5 · 16.2 cu ft | — | approximate |
| Kia EV3 Wind FWD Long RangeKia US spec: 26.1 / 56.5 cu ft with cargo floor at lowest level; front trunk 0.88 cu ft. No towing capacity listed. Sub-trunk: Kia's figure is measured with the cargo floor at its lowest level, so it includes the under-floor space; separate size not published. | 5 · 27 cu ft incl. sub-trunk + frunk | — | verified |
| Tesla Model Y Standard RWDSame body as other Model Y: 30.2 (incl. sub-trunk) / 72.1 / 4.1 frunk, pre-refresh figures; Tesla quotes 76 cu ft total. 3,500 lb with tow hitch option per third-party listing - confirm Standard trim offers the hitch. Sub-trunk: included in 30.2; separate volume not published. | 5 · 34.3 cu ft incl. sub-trunk + frunk | 3,500 lb | approximate |
| Tesla Model 3 Standard RWDEU data: trunk 593 L (20.9 cu ft, includes sub-trunk), frunk 88 L (3.1); Tesla US quotes ~24 cu ft total. Seats-folded 43.6 (EU) not quoted in US. Not approved for towing in North America per Tesla owner's manual. Sub-trunk: included in trunk figure; separate volume not published. | 5 · 24 cu ft incl. sub-trunk + frunk | Not rated | approximate |
| Chevrolet Silverado EV WT Standard Range 4WDGM MY2025 release: WT Standard Range up to 8,500 lb towing and 2,350 lb payload. 5 ft 11 in (70.7 in) bed; eTrunk 10.7 cu ft. MY2027 not confirmed. Sub-trunk 0 (pickup). | 5 · 5.9 ft bed | 8,500 lb | approximate |
| Toyota C-HR (electric) SE AWDToyota spec: 25.3 behind rear seat, 59.5 behind front seat (JBL-equipped figures). No frunk. Towing not listed on Toyota spec page. Sub-trunk: no data. | 5 · 25.3 cu ft | — | verified |
| Subaru Trailseeker Premium AWDSubaru spec: Premium/Limited 31.3 / 74.0 cu ft (Touring 30.4 / 71.8). No frunk. Towing 3,500 lb per Subaru launch info; not shown on the spec page. Sub-trunk: no data. | 5 · 31.3 cu ft | 3,500 lb | verified |
| Subaru Uncharted Sport AWDSubaru spec: 20.8 cu ft with deck board up / 23.0 with deck board in lower position. No max cargo or towing figure listed. No frunk. Sub-trunk: 2.2 cu ft = difference between deck-board lower and upper positions. | 5 · 23 cu ft incl. sub-trunk | — | verified |
| Hyundai Ioniq 9 SE AWDHyundai spec: 86.9 / 46.7 / 21.9 cu ft behind 1st/2nd/3rd row; SE AWD 7 seats, 5,000 lb with trailer brakes (RWD S: 3,500). Frunk volume not listed on Hyundai US spec page. Sub-trunk: no data. Frunk re-tried; still not found. | 7 · 46.7 cu ft | 5,000 lb | verified |
| Mercedes-Benz CLA 250+ with EQ TechnologyMBUSA (MY2027 CLA 250+ page): 1.4 cu ft front / 10.3 cu ft rear. Towing only 'with optional trailer hitch', no capacity shown - null. Sub-trunk: no data. | 5 · 11.7 cu ft incl. frunk | — | verified |
| Rivian R2 Performance Launch PackageRivian: rear cargo 28.7, seats folded 79.4, 'total storage' 90.1 cu ft; 4,400 lb with Tow Package (included in Launch Package); payload 1,168 lb. Frunk 5.2 cu ft per Wikipedia (not on Rivian page). Sub-trunk: unknown; 90.1 'total storage' minus 79.4 leaves ~10.7 cu ft for frunk plus other bins. | 5 · 33.9 cu ft incl. frunk | 4,400 lb | approximate |
| Hyundai Tucson Plug-in Hybrid SEL AWDHyundai spec: 31.9 seats up; 66.3 SAE seats folded (71.8 by Hyundai 'max' method). 2,000 lb with trailer brakes (1,650 without). Sub-trunk: no data. | 5 · 31.9 cu ft | 2,000 lb | verified |
| Kia Sportage Plug-in Hybrid X-Line AWDKia spec (SAE, dual-level floor lowest position): 34.5 / 65.5 cu ft. 2,000 lb braked / 1,653 unbraked; requires additional equipment. Sub-trunk: figure is measured with the dual-level floor in its lowest position, so under-floor space is included; separate size not published. | 5 · 34.5 cu ft incl. sub-trunk | 2,000 lb | verified |
| Kia Sorento Plug-in Hybrid EX AWDKia spec: behind 1st/2nd/3rd row 75.5 / 38.5-45.0 / 12.6 cu ft (2nd-row figure varies with seat slide; lower value used). EX is 7-passenger (6 with Premium Package). 2,000 lb towing. Sub-trunk: has a dual-level cargo floor; size and whether it is in the SAE figure not stated. | 7 · 38.5 cu ft | 2,000 lb | verified |
| Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV ES S-AWCMitsubishi spec (with sunroof): 30.8 behind 2nd row, 64.7 behind front seats; behind-3rd-row figure not listed. 7 seats std; 1,500 lb max towing. Sub-trunk: no data. | 7 · 30.8 cu ft | 1,500 lb | verified |
| Ford E-Transit 350 Cargo Van Low Roof 148" WBFrom Ford Pro's 2026 E-Transit page (captured in the California HVIP spec-sheet PDF, Dec 2025): starting MSRP $53,260 excluding destination; 89 kWh usable battery; 2 seats; low roof cargo volume 277.7 cu ft behind first row (Ford also lists 311.9 cu ft 'maximum cargo volume' for this body); T-350 Low Roof Long 148" WB RWD GVWR 9,500 lb, max payload 3,320 lb. Range 159 mi is Ford's estimate on EPA test cycles for the low roof (KBB lists 143-159 mi across roofs); the van is over 8,500 lb GVWR so there is no official EPA label. Destination $2,395 is derived (KBB's $55,655 destination-included price minus Ford's $53,260), not a published Ford figure. Charging: 2026 moved to a single onboard charger standard (~10.5 kW per Autoblog/Yahoo search excerpts) with dual onboard chargers optional (2025 figure was 19.2 kW); 176 kW DC peak per Ford via search excerpts; ~28 min 10-80% per KBB. CCS1/J1772 ports; Ford offers a NACS adapter for Supercharger access. Not rated for towing (Ford gives no E-Transit cargo van tow rating). Efficiency is an estimate: 89 kWh / 159 mi. Highway range = 159 x 0.80 (no independent 70-mph test of the 89 kWh US van found; an EV Pulse/InsideEVs-type test of the older 68 kWh pack is not comparable). Many Ford spec pages blocked fetching; several figures come from search excerpts. | 2 · 277.7 cu ft | Not rated | verified |
| Mercedes-Benz eSprinter 2500 Cargo Van Standard Roof 144" WB, 81 kWhmbvans.com (fetched 2026-09-27) still labels the current van the 2025 eSprinter Cargo Van and gives US range estimates of 150 mi (81 kWh) to 206 mi (113 kWh). Autoblog lists a 2026 model as a carryover with similar pricing, but no 2026 MSRP was found. PRICE CAVEAT: mbvans.com shows 'Starting at $52,700' with no explanation of what that includes. The $61,180 used here is the published MSRP for the 2025 2500 Standard Roof 144" (MBUSA launch pricing via Charged EVs, and cars.com). KBB's $63,475 = $61,180 + $2,295 destination, which matches InsideEVs' $2,295 destination figure. Confirm with a dealer. Over 8,500 lb GVWR (up to 9,370 lb), so no EPA label: 150 mi is Mercedes' US estimate. Mercedes' 204 mi figure for this pack is a WLTP city number; don't use it. 81 kWh usable per MBUSA release via Charged EVs. Cargo 319 cu ft and payload up to 3,516 lb for the 144" standard roof are from MBUSA release excerpts. 115 kW DC peak with ~32 min 10-80% for the 81 kWh pack comes from search excerpts. One dealer page calls 115 kW an 'upgraded' capability and quotes 50 kW as the standard rate, so confirm DC charging equipment on the order. 9.6 kW AC is from dealer pages. No US tow rating found. Seats: cargo vans are commonly 2-seat; cars.com lists 3, likely with the optional passenger bench. Assembly in Ladson, SC is reported by search results and dealer sources, not from a Mercedes spec page. Efficiency is an estimate: 81 kWh / 150 mi. Highway range = 150 x 0.80. InsideEVs' highway test was of the 113 kWh 170" van, a different configuration. | 2 · 319 cu ft | — | approximate |
| Ram ProMaster EV Tradesman 3500 Cargo Van High Roof 159" WBRam's spec page for this configuration (read in a browser on 2026-09-27; it is labeled 2025 MY and the site also has a 2026 tab) gives base price $56,495 excluding destination, destination $2,095, 268 hp FWD, 2 seats, GVWR 9,350 lb, GCWR 12,000 lb, and 463 cu ft cargo volume (160.2" cargo length). No 2026-specific MSRP was found, so the price is the 2025 figure. Ram's 2026 ProMaster EV pages give 164 mi 'cargo van combined city/hwy' range and a 110 kWh battery. The range is a manufacturer estimate from internal simulation at 50% payload, not an EPA rating (GVWR over 8,500 lb). Ram says 110 kWh but does not state whether that is usable, so efficiency (110/164 = 67.1 kWh/100 mi) is an estimate and may overstate consumption. Payload of 3,170 lb is Ram's 2026 'maximum payload'; the exact figure for this configuration was not confirmed. 11 kW Level 2 and 150 kW DC peak are from Motor1/InsideEVs launch coverage via search excerpts; no published 10-80% time was found. Ram publishes no tow rating for the EV (GCWR is listed, but no trailer rating), so towing is null. Highway range = 164 x 0.80 (no independent 70-mph test found). Assembly at Saltillo, Mexico is from general knowledge of ProMaster production, not a Ram EV spec page. Verify with Ram. | 2 · 463 cu ft | — | approximate |
| Rivian Commercial Van Delivery 500rivian.com/fleet (read 2026-09-27) lists: Delivery 500 starting at $79,900 plus taxes and fees; est. range 161 mi; 487 cu ft; payload 2,663 lb; GVWR 9,500 lb; FWD; interior cargo height 6'10". The page links a 2025 spec sheet. Rivian calls 161 mi a manufacturer estimate from simulation and EPA test cycles, not an official EPA value. The $3,000 destination is from Green Car Reports ($82,900 including $3,000 destination). 100 kWh usable LFP pack, 11 kW AC, 100 kW DC and CCS1 port come from Green Car Reports and the MY25-26 Rivian reference guide via search excerpts. No 10-80% time or tow rating was found. SEATS: the Rivian van is built as a single-seat (driver-only) delivery van; this was not confirmed on the fleet page, so verify. Sold only to registered businesses (fleets as small as 1 vehicle) through Rivian Fleet Sales. Rivian's FAQ says no personal-use purchases. Rivian has announced larger-battery (~30% more range) and AWD variants, initially for Amazon; they were not on the public fleet page as of this check. Efficiency is an estimate: 100 kWh / 161 mi. Highway range = 161 x 0.80 (no independent test found). Assembly: Rivian's Normal, IL plant (widely reported). | 1 · 487 cu ft | — | approximate |
Standard equipment
Driver assist, safety, and winter-comfort features that come standard on the trim we price. Facts only — we don't put a dollar value on them.
Standard equipment
Driver assist, safety, and winter-comfort features that come standard on the trim we price. Facts only — we don't put a dollar value on them.
Drafted in September 2026 by AI research agents from maker spec sheets, press releases, and dealer trim guides, then checked a second time field by field. 167 of 190 vehicles have been checked: 63 against the maker’s own spec pages (“verified”) and 104 against dealer and review trim guides when the maker’s site blocked automated reading (“approximate”). The rest show “not finished checking” rather than an unchecked guess.
How to read it: each fact applies to the one trim we price. “Not standard” usually means it’s an extra-cost option or comes on a higher trim. “Not confirmed” means sources disagreed or didn’t say. Driver-assist features change often through software and model-year updates (Tesla made Autosteer a paid feature in January 2026), so confirm with the dealer. Each vehicle page links its source.
Backup power in an outage (EV 101)
Which EVs can run a fridge from an outlet, back up the house through a transfer switch, or power the whole panel — used on /learn/power-outages, the EV pages, and the planner's used shopping list.
Backup power in an outage (EV 101)
Which EVs can run a fridge from an outlet, back up the house through a transfer switch, or power the whole panel — used on /learn/power-outages, the EV pages, and the planner's used shopping list.
What wears out (EV 101)
Service intervals and typical shop prices behind the gas-vs-electric maintenance chart.
What wears out (EV 101)
Service intervals and typical shop prices behind the gas-vs-electric maintenance chart.
A typical compact SUV over 5 years and 60,000 miles: common service intervals and RepairPal shop-price estimates (September 2026), with EV intervals for brakes, tires, and the 12-volt battery from Recurrent and Consumer Reports. Kept in data/wear_items.yaml. Approximate — your owner’s manual may differ.
- https://repairpal.com/estimator/toyota/rav4/oil-change-cost
- https://repairpal.com/estimator/nissan/leaf/brake-pad-replacement-cost
- https://www.recurrentauto.com/research/there-are-12-volt-batteries-in-electric-vehicles
- https://www.recurrentauto.com/research/whats-so-special-about-used-ev-tires
- https://advocacy.consumerreports.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/10/EV-Ownership-Cost-Final-Report-1.pdf
- https://www.geotab.com/blog/ev-battery-health/
- https://www.recurrentauto.com/research/how-long-do-ev-batteries-last
Vehicle data methodology
How we source MSRPs, EPA ranges, and efficiency for the 67 EVs and PHEVs in the picker.
Vehicle data methodology
How we source MSRPs, EPA ranges, and efficiency for the 67 EVs and PHEVs in the picker.
Vehicle specs are curated — not scraped — from the following sources, last re-verified September 2026:
- MSRPs: manufacturer websites and automotive press for the current model year (2026 or 2027), excluding destination fees. Actual transaction prices vary by region, dealer incentive, and trim level. Refresh quarterly.
- EPA combined range (range_mi): EPA-certified values from fueleconomy.gov.
- Winter range (winter_range_mi): our derated estimate applying a ~28% haircut to EPA combined range.
- Conservative EPA ratings (real_world_range_factor): automakers can choose how they certify EV range, and some (notably Mercedes-Benz) consistently beat their EPA number in independent tests up to ~75 mph, while others land at or below it. When at least two independent tests (Edmunds, Consumer Reports, InsideEVs) agree, we scale that model’s winter range and efficiency by the lowest matching test result. As of September 2026 this applies to the Mercedes EQE SUV (1.12×), EQE sedan (1.16×), EQS 450+ (1.13×), and CLA 250+ (1.16×). Highway range is unchanged — it was already calibrated to 70-mph tests. Untested models may also beat EPA; we don’t assume it without evidence.
- City/highway efficiency: EPA MPGe-to-kWh/100mi conversions from fueleconomy.gov.
- US/Canadian parts content: NHTSA’s MY2026 American Automobile Labeling Act report where listed; several models aren’t in it yet and show the prior-year figure or none.
- Availability: models whose production has ended but still have new dealer inventory are labeled “Final model year.” Models no longer sold new (e.g., F-150 Lightning, Tesla Model S, Polestar 2, Jeep Wrangler 4xe) stay in the picker for used-car shoppers, labeled “No longer sold new,” with their last new MSRP.
- Tax credit eligibility flags: historical (pre-OBBB). Retained in the dataset but the §30D credit is terminated for post-2025-09-30 purchases, so these flags no longer drive the calculator’s current-purchase output.
The September 2026 refresh re-checked every vehicle. A few values the manufacturer doesn’t publish (Tesla battery sizes and charge times, some peak charging speeds) are estimates and say so in the vehicle’s notes. Directional accuracy is the goal — if you’re deciding between two vehicles that are $2,000 apart in our data, the right move is to check current dealer inventory in your area, not to trust our number to the dollar.
Three-letter confidence on this one: Approximate across the fleet.
Known gaps and caveats
What we haven't verified, and where users should double-check.
Known gaps and caveats
What we haven't verified, and where users should double-check.
- Co-op and small-utility rates could not be verified; the calculator uses a rough ~17¢/kWh placeholder for those customers.
- AEP / Wheeling Power off-peak EV rate: the tariff doesn’t specify which riders apply, so the rate is a ±0.3¢ estimate, and AEP’s own program page is out of date.
- Utility choice is up to you — the calculator doesn’t look up your utility from your address. If you’re unsure, check your electric bill.
- Plug-in hybrid electric share assumes nightly charging; owners who skip charging will use more gas than shown.
- Running costs only: results don’t include purchase price, financing, or resale value. See the resale note on each vehicle.
- EV insurance is a formula-based estimate from class and price, not a quote.
- Vehicle MSRPs exclude destination fees, dealer markups, discounts, and incentives. Some specs are manufacturer projections pending EPA ratings (e.g., the 2026 RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid).
- Interstate corridor station lists in the charging-status panel were last curated in April 2026; the statewide counts and NEVI status were refreshed in September 2026.
- Tax credit transition rules: if you’re reviewing a past purchase made before 2025-09-30 under a binding contract, the old IRA credit rules may still apply to your filing. This calculator is scoped to current-purchase decisions.